ICC Greenland

About ICC

The Inuit Circumpolar Council (ІСС) is an international Indigenous Peoples’ Organization representing approximately 160.000 Inuit living in the Arctic regions of Alaska, Canada, Greenland and Chukotka, Russia.

The principal goals of ICC are:

  • To strengthen unity among Inuit of the Circumpolar region
  • To promote Inuit rights and interests on the international level
  • To ensure and further develop Inuit culture and society for both the present and future generations
  • To seek full and active participation in the political, economic, and social development in our homelands
  • To develop and encourage long-term policies which safeguard the Arctic environment
  • To work for international recognition of the human rights of all Indigenous Peoples

The ICC General Assembly is held every four years, bringing together Inuit from across the northern circumpolar region. Assembly delegates elect a chair and an executive council, and develop policies and resolutions for the coming term. The General Assembly is integral to the organization as it allows for discussion to ICC, and strengthens the cultural bonds between all Inuit.

ICC is an non governmental organization (NGO) or the Indigenous Peoples Organization (IPO) whose purpose is to ensure the rights and unity of Inuit through the culture and environment of a changing Arctic. The organization today represents about 180,000 Inuit in the four countries, Alaska (USA), Arctic Canada, Chukotka (Russia) and Greenland. Each country has an independent regional organization that is organized differently according to specific regional conditions. Alaska, Canada and Greenland each have 18 delegates, whereas Chukotka has 12.

ICC Greenland’s delegation consists of the President, the Vice-President, three delegates elected by Inatsisartut (Parliament), a representative from the municipalities and twelve representatives of the nationwide organizations. The delegation holds general assembly meeting every four years and have two meetings per year.

ICC-Greenland’s Board consists of the President, Vice-President and three members.

After the Greenland general assembly in 2018, Hjalmar Dahl and Nuka Kleemann continued as President and Vice-President. The other board members are Sofie Svendsen, SIK / Workers Union, Aviâja E. Lynge, MIO / National Spokesperson for Children’s Rights and Apollo Mathiassen, Representative of Avannaata Kommunia.

Qulutannguaq Berthelsen, SORLAK / Youth Organization was elected chairman of the delegation.