Newsletter 2019

A Circumpolar Inuit Declaration on Resource Development Principles in Inuit Nunaat

PRESS RELEASE May 11, 2011

Presentation and Launch Event
17:00h – 18:00h May 11th 2011
Katuaq Friendship Hall Nuuk

Inuit leaders from Chukotka (Russia), Alaska (US), Canada and Greenland met in Ottawa in February to discuss the issues of Oil and Gas Exploration and Exploitation in the Arctic, Mining and Impact Assessments.

The Summit resulted in ”A Circumpolar Inuit Declaration on Resource Development Principles in Inuit Nunaat”. The Declaration will be signed by the ICC Chair Aqqaluk Lynge, and the ICC Vice Chairs Duane Smith (Canada), Jim Stotts (Alaska) and Carl Christian Olsen (Greenland) at the presentation in Nuuk on May 11th, 2011.

ICC was mandated to facilitate the Summit by the ICC 2010 General Assembly, which recognized the Arctic’s great resource wealth, the increasing global demand for the Arctic’s minerals and hydrocarbons, the scope and depth of climate change and other environmental pressures and challenges facing the Arctic. Thus, Inuit decided to continue advocating for respectfulness of the ingenuity, resilience and wisdom of previous generations of Inuit, be confident of the ability of every generation of Inuit to adapt to change, and to be determined to provide for the material and cultural well-being of Inuit into the future.

The Declaration of Principles sets the minimum standards Inuit wishes state governments, regional governments, corporations and other resource development actors to follow.

”A Circumpolar Inuit Declaration on Resource Development Principles in Inuit Nunaat” will be presented at a launch event in Nuuk on May 11th at 17:00h to 18:00h in Katuaq Friendship Hall. ICC Chair Aqqaluk Lynge and ICC Vice Chairs Duane Smith, Jim Stotts and Carl Christian Olsen will attend the presentation of the Declaration.

Languages used at the press conference will be Kalaallisut, Danish and English

For further information, please contact:
ICC Chair's Office
Aqqusinersuaq 3, 1st Floor
3900 Nuuk
+299 32 36 32

Launch Event Programme:

17:00h Welcoming by ICC Chair Aqqaluk Lynge

17:10h Signing Ceremony by signatories:
Aqqaluk Lynge, Chair, ICC
Duane Smith, Vice Chair, Canada
Carl Christian Olsen, Vice Chair, Greenland
Jim Stotts, Vice Chair, Alaska
(Tatiana Achirgina, Vice Chair, Chukotka)

17:20h Presentation of the Declaration

17:30h Q&A

18:00h Press conference and launch event ends